Book Haul #7

Working in a book shop is a really bad idea if you actually want to not buy books until the end of the year. I tried to be reasonable and only used the 3 for 2 discount at Blackwell in September. But apart from this little splurge, several other books have found their way onto my book shelves somehow. I feel very bad for having aquired so many books again (!) in the last months. The only hope I have is that I still have to read 19 books until the end of the year to surpass my final book count from 2015 and I want to pick them mainly from my tbr instead of going to the library. But enough with the self-loathing, here is my latest book haul.

balckwell2

blackwell

Blackwell

Like I said, 3 for 2, how can I say No? And since I’ve been telling myself for months that I should read more Non-Fiction it seemed like the perfect opportunity to pick up SPQR by Mary Beard and The Silk Roads by Peter Frankopan. The third was prompted by Booktube because Jean from jeanbookishthoughts has mentioned John Wyndham a couple of times and I can dimly remeber a tv series based on one of his books that I enjoyed – I think.

bookswap

„Book Swap“

To be honest, book swap isn’t the right title because I didn’t have any books to swap with. But when a friend from Germany visited in September his girlfriend brought two of her books with her and left them here. I’m not quite sure if they are something I like but you never know. I might be in the mood for some chiclit one day and I have enjoyed the The Devil wears Prada movie so I’m interested in Revenge wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger. And Ira Levin’s novel Rosemary’s Baby is on the Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge list so this book by him might be good as well.

manchester

Second Hand Bookstore in Manchester

Last, but not least, here are the three books I bought in Manchester this weekend. I took Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane with me but nearly read it through on the outward trip. So naturally I had to go to a second hand bookstore and buy something else. Because you can never be without something to read, right? We went to Paramount Books in the Northern Quarter and I picked out two novels by Australian authors: The Idea of Perfection by Kate Grenville and Harland’s Half Acre by David Malouf. I had read books by them before in preparation for my master thesis and am excited to dip into this kind of literature again. If your interested to know what books I read so far that are set in Australia, you find my German video here and book review here.

barnardos

Barnardo’s Bookshop in St Andrews

I was picking out the other books to take a photo of them for this post when I realized I had forgotten two books. I bought this Allan Ginsberg biography and the first novel in the A Series of Unfortunate Events on different occasions in the second hand bookstore belonging to Barnardo’s here in St Andrews.

Kommentar verfassen

